“I’m exactly where I should be.”

Yesterday, one of my professors told a story about a girl who came into his office. She, too, was student teaching and on her way to getting her teaching license. She talked to my professor about her experience teaching, what her classes were like, and how life in general was treating her. At the end of their conversation, she said to him, “I’m exactly where I should be.” When he told that story to us as we all sat in a circle, listening intently, I thought to myself, “Wow, me too.” I think that was the first time in my life where I truly realized that I’m exactly where I want to be. I realized that it’s not about the materialistic things, how much money you have, how many friends you have, or what kind of car you drive. It’s about how happy you are and how content you are with how things are going. That’s where I’m at. Sheer happiness. I have everything I could ever want and I’m growing and learning more as a person each and every day. Over the past few months, my career choice has been one hundred percent solidified. I don’t think many 22 year old women can say that they know exactly what they want to do for the rest of their life and they are 6 months away from having their dream job. I work hard and have the end in sight and that’s what has gotten me here, along with the support of many important people in my life. I’m not quite sure how I got so lucky, or how I ended up with this life. I’m not sure that I’ll ever fully understand that, and it’s nothing to dwell on, but I think about it each and every day as I stand in front on my 10th graders, explain something to them, and hear 35 “OOOOOOOHHHH!” ‘s. That’s when I think, “I can do this every second of every day for the rest of my life.” If I’m ever having a rough day, if a student is ever not cooperating, I just have to think back to those moments and it suddenly becomes worth it again. So here’s my journey, the ups and downs, of student teaching, graduate school and life as I see it.

One thought on ““I’m exactly where I should be.”

Leave a Reply

